Visa and Passport:

Foreign nationals planning to travel to India are required to possess a valid passport of their country and a valid Indian visa.

The Consular Passport and Visa (CPV) Division of the Ministry of External Affairs is responsible for issuing Indian visas to foreign nationals for their visit for various purposes. This facility is granted through various Indian missions abroad.

Visa fees are non-refundable and subject to change without notice. The Embassy / High Commission / Consulate reserves the right on granting and deciding the type / duration of visa irrespective of the fees tendered at the time of making the application. The granting of a visa does not confer the right of entry to India and is subject to the discretion of the Immigration Authorities.

You require a valid passport from your country and a visa from an Indian mission abroad to enter India. For more details visit: (link indian-missions-abroad ) The exceptions are:

Specific visas are granted for different purposes. India issues the following types of visas [Source / link to visaServices] TOURIST VISA – For up to Six month’s period. Documents required – Documents supporting the applicant’s financial standing

BUSINESS VISA – For One or more year’s period. Documents required – Letter from the sponsoring organization. STUDENT VISA – For the duration of the academic course of study or for a period of five years whichever is less. Documents required – Proof of admission to recognized Universities/Institutions in India.

TRANSIT VISA – For maximum period of 15 days. Documents required – Evidence of onward travel to a destination outside India

CONFERENCE VISA – For the duration of the conference or seminar. Documents required – Letter of invitation from the organiser of the conference.

MEDICAL VISA – For up to one year or the period of medical treatment whichever is less . Visa can be granted to Attendant who is a blood relation to the patient and is co-terminus with the Medical Visa. Documents required – Documents from registered medical institutions/ doctors supporting the need for medical treatment along with letters from Indian medical institution.

VISA ON ARRIVAL – Only for citizens of Finland, Luxembourg, Singapore, New Zealand, Japan, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Philippines, Indonesia and Myanmar.

The Indian Government has the facility of tourist Visa on Arrival at four international airports, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata, covering citizens of more than 11 countries (as per above given list of countries). A fee of US Dollars 60 or an equivalent amount in Indian rupees per passenger, including children, will be charged from each foreigner for the grant of tourist visa on arrival.

For more information visit immigrationindia

When you apply for a visa at an Indian Embassy or High Commission you must include the following:

Head Office

India (Delhi)

I Block, House No.52 B, Third Floor
Lajpat Nagar-1, New Delhi-110024

Tel. No.:+91 - 11- 46121499